Marie Campbell – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome author Marie Campbell to the blog. Marie’s novel, Baby, was published on 14 July 2016 by The Conrad Press. Marie kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about Baby. Baby is a psychological thriller, based in Edinburgh, where I live. In it, Michael Stanton, goes…

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders – Review

Published by Bloomsbury Publication date – 25 July 2016 Source – review copy “Mrs Laetitia Rodd is the impoverished widow of an Archdeacon, living modestly in Hampstead with her landlady Mrs Bentley. She is also a private detective of the utmost discretion. In winter 1850, her brother Frederick, a criminal barrister, introduces her to Sir…

Eve Seymour – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Eve Seymour to the blog. Eve’s novel, Beautiful Losers was published by Midnight Ink on 8 March 2016. Eve kindly answered a few of my questions. Tell us a little about Beautiful Losers Beautiful Losers is a story about stalking and what it feels like to be the object of…

The Last Days of Jack Sparks by Jason Arnopp – Review

Published by Orbit Publication date – 28 July 2016 Source – review copy “Prepare for the cleverest, most addictive thriller you will read this year. This is the story of the ill-fated Jack Sparks – a man who plays with fire, and pays the price . . . THE MOST CHILLING AND UNPREDICTABLE THRILLER OF…

Unquiet Souls by Liz Mistry – Extract

Today author Liz Mistry has kindly agreed for me to share an extract from her novel, Unquiet Souls, which was published by Bloodhound Books on 30 July 2016 DI Gus McGuire laid bare Friday, 10am, Shipley, Bradford, 2015 She tapped her pen on the desk, her varnished nails flashing in Gus’ peripheral vision.  She looked…

Last Light by C.J. Lyons – Review

Published by Canelo Publication date – 3 May 2016 Source – review copy “A brutally murdered family… a wronged man in prison From bestselling author CJ Lyons comes a new, standalone Lucy Guardino series. For fans of Lisa Gardner, Angela Marsons and Helen H. Durrant “Everything a great thriller should be–action packed, authentic, and intense.” ~#1…

Under the Reader’s Radar – celebrating the quiet novel

There are thousands upon thousands of books published each year. Only a small percentage of those make it to the best-seller list. That doesn’t mean that the rest aren’t worthy of reading. It may be that they are written by self-published authors who don’t have the marketing knowledge or a small independent publisher who doesn’t have the…