Stephen Booth – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Stephen Booth to the blog. Stephen is the author of fifteen novels featuring detectives Cooper and Fry and the latest novel, The Murder Road, was published by Sphere on 5 May 2016. Stephen kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about The Murder Road. The story…

Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent – Review

Published by Penguin Ireland Publication date – 9 April 2015 Source – review copy “‘I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.’ Liz Nugent’s gripping novel of psychological suspense, Unravelling Oliver, is a complex and elegant study of the making of a sociopath in the tradition of Barbara Vine and Patricia Highsmith….

Falling in Love by Donna Leon – Review

Published by Arrow Publication date – 9 March 2016 Source – own copy “In Death at La Fenice, Donna Leon’s first novel in the Commissario Brunetti series, readers were introduced to the glamorous and cut-throat world of opera and to one of Italy’s finest living sopranos, Flavia Petrelli – then a suspect in the poisoning of…

Let Me Tell You About a Man I Knew by Susan Fletcher – review

Published by Virago Publication date – 2 June 2016 Source – review copy “A tender and savage novel narrated by the wife of the doctor who tended van Gogh in his last, madly frenetic painting years. Provence, May 1889. The hospital of Saint-Paul-de Mausole is home to the mentally ill. An old monastery, it sits…

David Hewson Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome author David Hewson to the blog. David is the best selling author of the Nic Costa series set in Rome, the Pieter Vos series set in Amsterdam and the best selling The Killing series, based on the original TV series. David’s latest novel to feature Amsterdam detective Pieter Vos, Little…

Under the Reader’s Radar – celebrating the quiet novel

There are thousands upon thousands of books published each year. Only a small percentage of those make it to the best-seller list. That doesn’t mean that the rest aren’t worthy of reading. It may be that they are written by self-published authors who don’t have the marketing knowledge or a small independent publisher who doesn’t have the…

Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton – Review

Published by Bantam Press Publication date – 2 June 2016 Source – review copy “Famous killers have fan clubs. Hamish Wolfe is no different. Locked up for the rest of his life for the abduction and murder of three young women, he gets countless adoring letters every day. He’s handsome, charismatic and very persuasive. His…

Emma Burstall Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome Emma Burstall to the blog. Emma is the author of Gym and Slimline, Never Close Your Eyes and The Darling Girl and her latest novel, Tremarnock, was published by Head of Zeus on 7 April 2016. Emma kindly answered a few of my questions. 1. Tell us a little about Tremarnock….

Under the Reader’s Radar – celebrating the quiet novel

There are thousands upon thousands of books published each year. Only a small percentage of those make it to the best-seller list. That doesn’t mean that the rest aren’t worthy of reading. It may be that they are written by self-published authors who don’t have the marketing knowledge or a small independent publisher who doesn’t have the…

Deadly Harvest by Michael Stanley – Review

Published by Orenda Books Publication date – 15 May 2016 Source – review copy “A young girl goes missing after getting into a car with a mysterious man. Soon after, a second girl disappears, and her devastated father, Witness, sets out to seek revenge. As the trail goes cold, Samantha Khama – new recruit to…