Book Advent Calendar – 15 December

Today’s book is another of the many debut novels I have read this year. It’s a great example of the wealth of new literary talent that has appeared in 2014. Thankfully that trend promises to continue into 2015. As for this book it was a moving, dark novel, set in the brightness of Paris bathed…

Book Advent Calendar – 14 December

The book revealed today is one of a series of books I love. The next book is on the wish list before it’s even been written. The series features one of my favourite detectives and his family is one of my favourite in fiction. It also happens to be set in beautiful Venice. I’m hoping…

Book Advent Calendar – 13 December

Today’s book is another dark read. This one is slightly different in that it is told from the perspective of the ‘bad guy’. We know that Mr Heming is up to no good from the outset, the blurb tells us as much. We just don’t know exactly how far his little hobby goes. This is…

David Towsey – Q&A

Today I’m pleased to welcome David Towsey to the blog. David is the author of Your Brother’s Blood and the recently published Your Servants and Your People, the first two books in The Walkin’ Trilogy. David has been kind enough to answer a few of my questions. 1. Your Servants and Your People is the…

Book Advent Calendar – 12 December

Today’s book is something a little different. Christmas is for the kids after all so no book Advent Calendar would be complete without a children’s book. Guess How Much I Love You is a charming little tale of Little Nut Brown Hare. As bedtime approaches Little Nut Brown Hare has fun telling Big Nut Brown…

The Crooked House – Christobel Kent – Review

Sphere 6 January 2015 “A stunning psychological thriller that follows one woman’s search for the truth about her tragic family history; perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and Apple Tree Yard. Alison is as close to anonymous as she can get: with no ties, no home, a backroom job, hers is a life lived…

Book Advent Calendar – 10 December

Today’s book is the first book I reviewed on my blog, way back in January. It remains a firm favourite with me and is one I recommend to people looking for a gritty crime drama, with fabulous characters and a storyline with a difference. This book is the first in a series and I can’t…

Book Advent Calendar – 9 December

Today’s book is chosen by Susan at alifeinbooks.co.uk. I’ve not yet read this book but its one I will certainly have to look into after reading Susan’s review. You can find Susan’s review here

Steven Kedie – Q&A

Today I have a Q&A with Steven Kedie, author of Suburb. Tell us a little about Suburb. Suburb is the story of a young man (Tom) discovering who he is and who he wants to be. It’s about his desire for adventure and the decisions and mistakes of youth. It looks at how experiences can change the…